Going Bob Vila

To borrow a phrase from the great poet, Ice Cube, today was a good day.  And I expect the rest of it to be, as well.  I woke up to my alarm on the first explosion of “Oh baby you, you got what I need…” (which is a bit odd for me to wake up without hitting snooze 47 times) while my littlest darling, Red, didn’t wake up at all (even more odd since she loves Biz).  What makes all this even more bizarre is that I took the day off and forgot to turn the alarm off.  Angie and I actually ended up with some quiet together in the morning, which happens about as often as Haley’s comet passing the Earth.  By the time TD woke up, we were ready to head for Starbucks and La Mie to celebrate the morning together.

Soon thereafter, I kicked it Bob Vila style.  This weekend, we’re replacing the siding on the south side of our house.  In the limited time we worked last night, the source of our DirecTV to the family room was lost.  So today I had the enviable task of crawling deep into the attic, laying on my stomach on insulation with roofing nails digging into the back of my scalp as I drilled through the top of the wall, fished through insulation down the wall to the hole I’d created behind the television.  Needless to say, it was an exhilarating experience.  When the project was not going as well as I’d hoped, I may have dropped a few F bombs along the way.  Okay, to be fully honest, I might have made Eddie Murphy’s Raw performance sound like a PG-13 comedy routine.  But it was all worthwhile when the yellow 20yd roll off dumpster showed up in my drive — I love those things! Soon it will be adorned with an old toilet, some sticks, some siding and my cat (oh, I wish it were that easy to get rid of him).

This is really just a long-winded way of saying that I don’t have many deep thoughts at the moment.  I’m a little surprised that I’ve written so many words that have more than 4 letters.  I’m not surprised at the number of words because even when I’m 4 letter mode, I can string together quite a few words.

Anyway, last night’s post-siding entertainment consisted of TD absolutely destroying a Jimmy John’s slim 4 AFTER he’d eaten dinner, then Angie and I watching Vicky Christina Barcelona.  First off, Penelope Cruz is stunning.  We’ve watched 3 of her films in recent weeks and we’ve been shocked at how well she’s aging.  Secondly, I love how Woody Allen sees the world.  While I don’t necessarily think it’s probably the best thing for him, it certainly opens my eyes.  The film isn’t great — it’s no Annie Hall — but it really does a nice job of developing characters that are so tied to their (false) identity and the lies that they believe about themselves that they’ll sabotage their own joy to support those broken self-images.

I think the natural questions to walk away with are “am I really the person that everyone thinks I am?” and, if so, “why is there a disconnect between who I am on the inside and the exterior that everyone sees?”  I offer this to you: as long as the disconnect between who you are on the inside and who you are on the outside exists, you’ll always suffer from some level of uncomfortable tension.  For many, it’ll suck the joy right out of your life.  There’s definitely something better out there than being joyless; hiding within the stronghold of your outdated external identity isn’t it.

Rehabilitation projects suck.  And they may even cause the dispensation of numerous 4 letter words.  But when the rehab is complete, the completed area adds beauty and function where there once stood a rotten, old (and probably tacky) structure.

About yiothesia8

I'm a son, a husband and a father seeking Truth

Posted on October 15, 2010, in Miscellaneous Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I would have to say that the best part of this blog is the amazing Mr. Vila greeting you with that smile as you begin to read. I definitely wasn’t concentrating on what you were saying but I read it with a smile on my face. Thanks Ryan and Bob for making my week complete.

  2. I like the transition from not having a thought to deep thoughts by Ryan Hervey. The only picture that may have helped readers understand your trouble with words over 4 letters long would have been the Troy Aikman “baffled” poster.

    Nice work, I enjoy these a great deal. Keep up the good work my friend.

Leave a Reply

