My Three Words

I don’t think I’ll ever remember my first day of law school when one my professors said that “lawyers don’t have original thoughts.”  I didn’t fully understand that concept at the time, although I certainly see it now.  Of course, it’s that very concept that drove me out of private practice just a couple of years into it (and billable hours).  Thankfully, I get to be creative for a living these days.  Much more enjoyable.

Anyway, that little intro paragraph was to introduce the fact that my post today is completely unoriginal.  I’m borrowing a concept from a post on BeDeviant.com entitled, “My Three Words for 2011.”  In truly lawyerly vein, he took the concept from someone else, as well.  So I’m not even original in my idea to take someone else’s idea.

The idea is that you come up with three words that you think will define your 2011.  If you need more detail on HOW to do that, follow the link to read what Justin has to say.  Otherwise, you can continue on and I’ll give you my three words:

EMPOWER.  BRIDGE.  INVIGORATE.

No doubt, I’ll revisit these words as the year goes along and explain how they’re showing up in my life, and the lives of those I touch.  I want to see amazing things happen for the people in my life.  I want to share in your joys and triumphs; I’m selfish like that.  But I also want to share in your sadness and defeat when they occur.  Unwelcome as they are, they set the stage for future joys and triumphs.  Really, I just hate seeing people’s live destroyed by fear.  Fear of what others think, fear of failure, fear of success, fear of being vulnerable.  Fear ruins lives, steals joy and strips confidence.  Fear of people finding out “who I really am” nearly destroyed me.  As such, I’m declaring full blown war on fear in 2011.

What three words will define you in 2011?

About yiothesia8

I'm a son, a husband and a father seeking Truth

Posted on December 31, 2010, in Miscellaneous Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

